Tuesday, January 3

The Chronicles of Narnia @ your library

Check out the books, audios, previous video adaptations of The Chronicles of Narnia and information on C. S. Lewis @ your library.

This information, taken from http://www.aslan.demon.co.uk/narnia.htm, may be of use to you as you read The Chronicles of Narnia. There are at least two ways to read the books; either chronologically as they were published or in the chronological sequence of the events of the stories.

Listed as they were published:

  1. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (published 1950)
  2. Prince Caspian (1951)
  3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
  4. The Silver Chair (1953)
  5. The Horse and His Boy (1954)
  6. The Magician's Nephew (1955)
  7. The Last Battle (1956)

Listed as the chronological sequence of events:

  1. The Magician's Nephew
  2. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
  3. The Horse and His Boy
  4. Prince Caspian
  5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  6. The Silver Chair
  7. The Last Battle

Whether you decide to read the stories in the order they were published or in the chronological order of events, you can find the books @ your library!

You may also want to check out these websites:
The Chronicles of Narnia: Movie Website
Into the Wardrobe: A C. S. Lewis Website
NarniaWeb: The World's #1 Source for Narnia Movie News
The Lions Call: An online Narnia community which includes discussions, games, teacher resources, fun facts, and more!
Narnia Fans: By and for fans of C. S. Lewis and The Chronicles of Narnia
KidsReads.com: Narnia Trivia Game
The Narnia Story: Listen free, online, to the Narnia story; or download the MP3.
The Narnia Fan Site
The Narnia Blog by Infuze

Authors @ your library in January 2006!

Pearl Library, January 4, 10:30 a.m.
Jimmy Bonner, author of Propping on a Gooseneck: Boyhood Wanderings of the Last of the White Mississippi Delta Sharecroppers, Coahoma City, MS, will be at the Pearl Library for the Coffee Break Books for Men. The talk will be followed by a book signing and refreshments.

Florence Library, January 9, 12:00 noon
Bernice Rayford, author of Collard Greens and Ham, will be at the Florence Library for a book talk.

Brandon Library, January 26, 12:00 noon
Paige Cothren, author of 23 books, will be at the Brandon Library. Come meet this author from Natchez. He played football both at Ole Miss and professionally. He speaks publicly 200-300 times yearly and is both humorous and informative.

Pearl Library, January 27, 12:00 noon
Eleanor Hughes, author of It's Hard to Believe with No Salt, No Sugar, will be at the Pearl Library for a Brown Bag Affair; demonstrating through taste testing how people with diabetes can enjoy delicious dishes.

And, for those of you wanting to be an author @ your library...
Southern Writers Group will meet at the Flowood Library on January 13, 12:00 noon. Bring lunch and discuss the craft of writing with others interested in writing. The group will also meet on January 26, 6:30 p.m., for a discussion.